Seven Toyota Vehicles Are Honored with IIHS 2018 Safety Awards

Earlier this month, it was announced that Toyota saw seven models earn spots on the 2018 Insurance Institute for Highway Safety (IIHS) Top Safety Pick Awards List, with the Camry earning the highest possible award handed out.


A post shared by toyotausa (@toyotausa) on

IIHS reported that they had toughened up the requirements for vehicles to earn a Top Safety Pick or Top Safety Pick+ award, and the majority of winners only earned an award by adding optional equipment -- with the notable exception of Toyota. In fact, Toyota has equipped all but a few models with standard auto-brake and other advanced safety features, which allowed the seven models to qualify for the awards without any added options.

Toyota 2018 IIHS Top Safety Pick+ Award Winner:

  • Toyota Camry with specific headlights

Toyota 2018 IIHS Top Safety Pick Award Winners:

  • Toyota Avalon with specific headlights
  • Toyota Corolla
  • Toyota Prius
  • Toyota Prius Prime
  • Toyota RAV4 with specific headlights
  • Toyota Highlander

In a press release, Chris Nielsen, executive vice president of product support and chief quality officer of Toyota Motor North America, commented, "We’re pleased to have so many vehicles recognized by IIHS, especially with the completely redesigned 2018 Camry receiving its highest safety award. Toyota and Lexus remain committed to providing safe and reliable vehicles and we’re proud to have Toyota Safety Sense and Lexus Safety System+ as standard equipment on almost every new model in our lineup."

To speak with a member of our team and explore our inventory of Toyota vehicles, visit our showroom at 1357 Richmond Road in Charlottesville.

Categories: News


Nothing posted yet.
  • AdChoices